Teaching Fractions is something I am very passionate about. It is one of those topics that if a simple misunderstanding is learnt then it becomes very difficult for the student to understand anything regarding Fractions until that misconception has been corrected.
Five years ago, I myself suffered the same problem many students face today and that is being afraid to ask for help if unsure of a mathematical term. 
In 2009, I was studying to become a teacher at University and as a pre-requisite to pass the degree you had to pass this difficult maths test.
Any test can be daunting but for me, there was added pressure with this test..
If you fail the test you fail the course... 
The one topic that seemed to get the better of me was FRACTIONS..
I was stressing myself out until this one particular afternoon where I asked my father for help. It took my father 30 minutes to bridge the misconception I was experiencing and since that moment, it has become my favourite topic to teach. 
I have shared this experience because I want my students to know that it is OK to ask for help :)

 



Leave a Reply.